Herbs and Spices, Galore!

There is much fun to be had in discovering new herbs and spices to play with in the kitchen. One of my favorite activities on a lazy Saturday afternoon is to head over the the Savory Spice Shop. I always feel like a little kid in a candy shop when I find myself surrounded by bins, jars and sachets of herbs and spices from all over the world.

cultured_chef_pg48

Each new discovery carries with it an educational opportunity as I learn about the cultural heritage, history, culinary and medical uses of the herbs and spices. If I concentrate, I can imagine myself as an early pioneer or explorer experiencing this strange and exotic find for the very first time. It’s pretty exciting if you start paying attention to the stories behind each of the ingredients neatly stored in jars, tucked all over the store. There was once a time when herbs and spices from the New World were more valuable than gold!

Indeed, the Savory Spice Shop holds a special place in my heart. Perhaps it’s because the staff are always so friendly and knowledgable, greeting me with huge smiles as I walk through the door. And perhaps it’s because they love my cookbook, The Cultured Chef! In fact, I’ll be signing copies this coming Saturday from 12-4 at the Sellwood location in Portland, Oregon.

5.13_SavorySpiceShop_customer_co2ils

Excerpt from the Sellwood Bee about my upcoming signing

Nicholas Beatty, author of “The Cultured Chef”, tells The Sellwood Bee, “I am a local author working with Jim and Anne Brown at the Savory Spice Shop in Sellwood. They have been very strong supporters of my cookbook, “The Cultured Chef: An International Cookbook for Kids”, since its early stages of research and development. The illustrator, Coleen McIntyre, and I will be signing books and providing sample recipes from the book December 5th from noon to 4 p.m.”

The Sellwood community held a very large role in the eventual publication of the book through our Kickstarter campaign, during which funds were raised to produce the book. The Savory Spice Shop is next to Umpqua Bank and across from the library, on S.E. 13th at Bidwell Street in Portland, Oregon. 

About nicholasbeatty

Nicholas Beatty is a children’s book author working primarily in multicultural stories. He loves folktales, local legends and history. He finds his inspiration when he travels around the world, and his passion is in sharing those stories with others.
This entry was posted in Fascinating People, Holidays & Events, Nicholas Beatty's Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

